Jackie Areson, David McNeill Win Silicon Valley Turkey Trot; Ritz 5th

Jackie Areson and David McNeill won the elite 5k races at the Silicon Valley Turkey Trot on a cool Thanksgiving morning in San Jose, Calif.

Areson, the 2010 NCAA indoor 5000 meter champion, broke away from the pack midway through the race. Her move was covered by 2:36 marathoner Aziza Aliyu but Areson was ultimately able to break the Ethiopian on the final two kilometer loop to break the tape in a time of 16 minutes, 2 seconds.

Aliyu was second in 16 minutes, 6 seconds while Wichita State grad Kellyn Johnson was third in 16 minutes, 24 seconds.

Areson joined the Nike Oregon Project and coaches Alberto Salazar and Steve Magness last May after exhausting collegiate eligibility at the University of Tennessee.

The men’s race went out in a moderate pace for the first two kilometers as a large pack remained in contact with the front. But once things began moving, it was three Arizona residents that broke away.

Northern Arizona graduate McNeill finished hard over the last half mile to break Alan Webb’s course record in a time of 13 minutes, 33 seconds.

McNeill will next contest the Zatopek 10,000 in Melbourne, Australia on December 10. The race will serve as the unofficial Australian Olympic Trials for the 10k.

McNeill’s training partner Stephen Sambu was second. Sambu is a senior at the University of Arizona who redshirted the past cross country season.

Northern Arizona senior Diego Estrada finished third just three days after placing seventh at the NCAA cross country championships.

In his final race before the Olympic Trials Marathon, Dathan Ritzenhein was fifth in the men’s race.

Click for men’s and women’s finish videos.

Click for men’s and women’s photos, courtesy of Tom Liu.

Official results:

1. Jackie Areson 16:02
2. Aziza Aliyu 16:06
3. Kellyn Johnson 16:24
4. Clara Horowitz Peterson 16:24
5. Hilary Stellingwerff 16:26
6. Annie Bersagel 16:30
7. Katie Follett 16:33
8. Kaitlin Gregg 16:35
9. Alvina Begay 16:36
10. Kristin Anderson 16:40

1. David McNeill 13:33, course record
2. Stephen Sambu 13:37
3. Diego Estrada 13:38
4. Jordan McNamara 13:49
5. Dathan Ritzenhein 13:49
6. Aaron Braun 13:55
7. Phillip Reid 13:57
8. Giliat Ghebray 13:57
9. Abiyot Endale 13:59
10. Michael Coe 14:01

Tags: Silicon Valley Turkey Trot

comments powered by Disqus