Usain Bolt False Starts, Disqualified From World Final; Yohan Blake Wins

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Bye-bye Bolt (AP Photo/Lee Jin-man)

The detractors of the IAAF’s one-and-done false start rule long feared the moment when a sprint favorite would make an error and be disqualified from a World or Olympic final.

This nightmare scenario took place on Sunday evening at the World Championships as 100 and 200 meter world record holder Usain Bolt false started in the 100 meter final.  The Jamaican superstar clearly took off prior to the gun firing and immediately knew he had violated the rule.

Bolt had struggled with his start early on his season but started much better in the first two rounds in Daegu.  Perhaps feeling the pressure of his competitors, the need for an aggressive approach ultimately backfired.

Bolt is scheduled to compete in the 200 meters starting on Friday, September 2.

Bolt’s countryman Yohan Blake went on to win the World title in 9.92 seconds.  Walter Dix of the U.S. was second in 10.08 seconds while 38 year old Kim Collins of St. Kitts & Nevis was third.

Video of Bolt’s false start:

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Daegu 2011

comments powered by Disqus